Tenth Doctoral School on Latin American, European and Comparative Regionalism

Bringing together PhD students and other promising young researchers, the Tenth Doctoral School, organised by UNU-CRIS and the Universidad Andina Simón Bolívar Sede Ecuador, will deliver a series of lectures by leading academics on methods, theories, and new trends in Latin American, European and Comparative Regionalism, and afford the next generation of researchers the opportunity to discuss and develop their research projects in tutorial sessions.

Taking place in Quito, Ecuador from 11-15 July 2022, the Doctoral School will benefit doctoral students and other early-career researchers from across the social science spectrum, in various stages of their research projects, seeking answers to questions within the framework of Latin American, European or Comparative Regionalism.

The Doctoral School seeks to establish a network of researchers dealing with regionalism, based at universities across Latin America and beyond.

The Doctoral School is bi-lingual (English-Spanish).


"The comparative perspective offered by school gave me an excellent opportunity to move beyond one region (or one organization) and to discuss the implications of similar processes in different parts of the world. Given that I also teach Latin American studies, these insights were precious."

"En la escuela, no solamente tuve el privilegio de exponer mis ideas, sino de debatirlas a un nivel profundo e interdisciplinario, con futuros doctores, expertos y líderes regionales y globales, a quienes ahora llamo amigos".Carlos Arturo Villagrán Sandoval, Guatemala."

- alumni of the Doctoral School


The Doctoral School runs from Monday to Friday, with lectures delivered in the morning session and tutorials in the afternoon.

View the full programme here:

The application process will be open until May 31, 2022.

Candidates must submit the following:

  • Motivation letter (max. 500 words)
  • Detailed curriculum
  • Outline of their planned or ongoing research project

The documents must be submitted via the Doctoral School's application form (see below) and can be written in Spanish or English.

The programme is bi-lingual and will be conducted in English and Spanish, and as such participants are expected to have a good command of both languages. 

The general enrolment fee is 450 USD, with a reduced fee of 350 USD for Latin American students.

The payment covers participation in lectures, leisure events, lunch, and coffee breaks.

We offer a limited number of scholarships to cover enrolment and on-campus accommodation.

Candidates wishing to apply for a scholarship should specify their need in the motivation letter and attach a written confirmation from their institution confirming their inability to cover the enrolment fees.

Full payment must be made two weeks prior to the commencement of the course. 

Philippe De Lombaerde

Director, UNU-CRIS

Michel Levi

Associate Professor, Universidad Andina Simón Bolívar Ecuador

Coordinator of the Jean Monnet European Studies Module, Universidad Andina Simón Bolívar Ecuador

Diana Tussie

Director of the International Relations Area, FLACSO – Argentina

Cintia Quiliconi

Coordinator of the Doctorate in International Studies

Professor-Researcher in the Department of International Studies and Communication, FLACSO-Ecuador

Juliana Peixoto Batista

Associate Researcher, FLACSO - Argentina

Gian Luca Gardini

Chair of International Business and Society Relations with Focus on Latin America, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität

Peter Birle

Research Director, Ibero-American Institute

Detlef Nolte

Associate, German Institute for Global and Area Studies (GIGA)

German Prieto

Associate Professor, Pontificia Universidad Javeriana

Gustavo Garcia Brito

Principal Magistrate of the Court of Justice of the Andean Community

Nahuel Oddone

Coordinator, Alliance for the Integration and Development of Latin America and the Caribbean (ILAT)

Associate Research Fellow, UNU-CRIS

Jamie Pring

Research Fellow, Freie Universität Berlin

Charles-Michel Geurts

Ambassador of the European Union to Ecuador

Visiting Professor, College of Europe

Amandine Gnanguenon

Visiting Research Fellow, UNU-CRIS

Karina Mariano

Professor, São Paulo State University

Frank Mattheis

Research Fellow, UNU-CRIS